Denis Leary’s Controversial Remarks on Autism

Comic Denis Leary is trying to extract his foot from his mouth, after a passage from his recent book was released that offers a highly controversial comment on children diagnosed with autism.

Denis Leary has gotten himself in trouble with the Autism Society of America after an excerpt was released from his new book Why We Suck: A Feel-Good Guide to Staying Fat, Loud, Lazy and Stupid. Here’s Denis’ take on the topic via Page Six:

“There is a huge boom in autism right now because inattentive mothers and competitive dads want an explanation for why their dumb-ass kids can’t compete academically, so they throw money into the happy laps of shrinks . . . to get back diagnoses that help explain away the deficiencies of their junior morons. I don’t give a [bleep] what these crackerjack whack jobs tell you – yer kid is NOT autistic. He’s just stupid. Or lazy. Or both.”

Not surprisingly, Leary has been lambasted for the remarks. Kim Stagliano responds directly on the Huffington Post:

Whattsamatta, Denis, my fellow Bahstonian, did you get a bad clam at Kelly’s? When did we autism parents and our “junior morons” become the punching bag of the week? Or did you just include this particular rant because you know autism is prevalent in the news and it would generate publicity for you? That’s what I think. I can see you sitting at your desk, well, maybe pacing anxiously back and forth, ruffling your hand through your thick hair, “I need a hook! I need to piss off people who will write about me. Autism! Those parents aaah crazy, rabid dahgs! I’m a freakin’ GEEEN-ius! What a wicked awesome idea! Now, what the hell is autism? Who ce-ahs!”

I care, Denis. I care that your words imply that my three girls aren’t seriously disabled like your good friend Michael J. Fox or worthy of respect. I’ve always enjoyed your brash, in your face humor. I love that you’re a Boston Irishman. I think firemen are hot. But Denis, don’t turn the hose on me and my kids. Please.

(PS) Click HERE to read the scorching letter just sent to The Leary Firefighter Foundation by a retired FDNY veteran who left his career to stay home and care for his son with autism.

Tags: | | | | | | | |

One thought on “Denis Leary’s Controversial Remarks on Autism

Leave a Reply

